SOUTH AFRICA: President Cyril Ramaphosa has announced that the 20 land border posts of entry into South Africa will be closed until 15th February, 2021 for general entry and departure amidst rising cases of COVID-19 .

The President emphamsied that the closure includes the six busiest border posts, which are Beitbridge, Lebombo, Maseru Bridge, Oshoek, Ficksburg and Kopfontein.

The government is taking this measure to contain infections and save lives under the “Alert Level 3”, as the President cited that these borders are areas for the transmission of the disease because they are heavily congested.

The closure will not affect some people: South African nationals, permanent residents, valid visa holders, diplomats, daily commuters from neighbouring countries who attend cross-border schools and those who require emergency medical attention.

Transportation of fuel, cargo and goods will not be affected by the closure, also foreigners will be allowed to leave the country.

The ban on beaches, rivers, lakes and public swimming pools still remains.

Cape Times stated that under adjusted level 3, South Africa’s international borders remain open.

They added that the Government Gazette indicates that international travel can take place from and to OR Tambo International Airport, King Shaka International Airport, and Cape Town International Airport.

Tags : Cyril Ramaphosasouth africaSouth Africa Government
Tayo Balogun

The author Tayo Balogun

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: