Niecy Nash to Host Virtual 32nd Annual GLAAD Media Awards

Niecy Nash has been announced to host the virtual 32nd Annual GLAAD Media Awards, scheduled for April 8th.

A special award called TikTok Queer Advocate of the Year, has been created by the collaboration of GLAAD and TikTok to honour the TikTok creators who have taken LGBTQ visibility to new heights.

The nominees for the special award are: Denise & Ebony, Crissa Jackson, Chris Olsen, Ian Paget, Kyne, Josh Helfgott, Ve’ondre Mitchell, Austin Chiang, and Christine Marshall.

Voting for the award will be opened until 12th March.

The nominees for the 32nd Annual GLAAD Media Awards were announced in late January, with Lady Gaga, Miley Cyrus, Halsey, Brandy Clark, Adam Lambert, Sam Smith, and Ricky Martin making the list for Outstanding Music Artists.

In a statement credited to the GLAAD President & CEO, Sarah Kate Ellis, she said: “During an unprecedented year of crises and isolation, the nominees for the 32nd Annual GLAAD Media Awards reached LGBTQ people with powerful stories and inspired countless others around the world with bold looks at LGBTQ people and issues.

“As GLAAD continues to lead the fight for LGBTQ acceptance, this year’s nominees remind us that even in times of political and cultural division, diverse LGBTQ representation and visibility can enlighten, entertain, and create lasting change.”

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the 31st Annual GLAAD Media Awards were also forced to go virtual with a livestream ceremony hosted by comedians Fortune Feimster and Gina Yashere.

This year’s edition will be streamed live on the GLAAD Youtube channel.

Tags : GLAAD Media AwardNiecy Nash
Tayo Balogun

The author Tayo Balogun

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: